Official Documents

    Sign in / Register to Apply

    How to Apply

    Please note that the system of applying via email is discontinued.

    Applicants are asked to note that a minimum of 30% of each renewable energy project should be owned, controlled and vested in a citizen of Barbados, or corporations or associations organized under the Laws of Barbados where the beneficial ownership is Barbadian and that all licenses issued for generation and/or storage be subject to this condition.

    The public is invited to note that the Electric Light and Power Act 2013 (The Act) was proclaimed on May 4, 2015. The Electric Light and Power (Amendment) Act 2015 has also come into effect along with the Electric Light and Power (Fees) Regulations.

    This new legislation makes provision for the generation of electricity by Independent Power Producers as well as establishes a licensing system for the supply of electricity by such producers.

    2. In accordance with Section 4 of the Act, the Electric Light and Power Advisory Committee has been established to advise the Minister on the award of licences and any matters related to the Act. The members of the Committee are:

    The Electric Light and Power Advisory Committee

    • Chairman – Ms. Karen Perreira
    • Deputy Chairman – Mr. Mark Foster
    • Committee Member – Mr. Antonio Elcock
    • Committee Member – Mr. Gordon Walker
    • Committee member – Ms. Audrey Burgess
    • Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Energy – Mr. Andrew Gittens
    • Chief Energy Conservation Officer, Ministry of Energy – Mr. William Hinds
    • Chief Electrical Officer – Mr. Tyrone White
    • Chief Town Planner – Mr. Rudy Headley